Rothersthorpe, Rothersthorpe Parish Council

Who we are & what we do

A local council is a universal term for community, neighbourhood, parish and town councils. They are the first tier of local government and are statutory bodies. They serve electorates and are independently elected and raise their own precept (a form of council tax).

There are 10,000 local councils in England with over 30% of the country parished and 100,000 councillors who serve in these local councils, with over £1b being invested into these communities every year.

Local councils work towards improving community well-being and providing better services. Their activities fall into three main categories: representing the local community; delivering services to meet local needs; striving to improve quality of life and community well-being.

Through an extensive range of discretionary powers local councils provide and maintain a variety of important and visible local services including allotments, bridleways, burial grounds, bus shelters, car parks, commons and open spaces, community transport schemes, community safety and crime reduction measures, events and festivals, footpaths, leisure and sports facilities, litter bins, public toilets, planning, street cleaning and lighting, tourism activities, traffic calming measures, village greens and youth projects.

Rothersthorpe Parish Council

Rothersthorpe Parish Council consists of 7 voluntary Councillors who are elected for a four-year term of office to serve and administer for the needs of the residents of Rothersthorpe. When a vacancy occurs, called a casual vacancy, a new member is co-opted until the next local elections.

At the last local elections held on Thursday 6th May 2021 five Councillors were elected unopposed with 2 of the 7 seats not filled.

Chairman Robert Boscott and Cllr Paul Sage chose not to stand for the upcoming term. Cllr Nick Henry unfortunately stood down from the Parish Council after the elections due to increased work commitments. The Parish Council would like to take this opportunity to thank all departing councillors for their dedication in serving the parishioners of Rothersthorpe and to wish them all the best for the future.

We would like to warmly welcome Cllr Phil Lord who was co-opted onto the Parish Council on Monday 5th July 2021.

Rothersthorpe Parish Council has the following vacancies:

  • Casual Vacancy - Co Opted Parish Councillor
  • Parish Councillor - Appointed through the Returning Officer West Northamptonshire

Individuals wishing to take on take on an interesting varied and responsible role as a Member of Rothersthorpe Parish Council are invited to contact the Clerk for further information.

You must be 18 years of age and satisfy certain electoral qualifications. Before taking their seat, Members sign a Declaration of Acceptance of Office. They then have 18 days to complete a Register of Interests which is submitted to the Returning Officer at West Northamptonshire Council and published on the website.

Members are expected to act in accordance with the Council's adopted Code of Conduct.

The next local elections Parish Council will take place in May 2025.

The Council currently meets at Rothersthorpe Village Hall Committee Rooms, Church Street, Rothersthorpe, Northants, NN7 3HS.

Who are your Parish Councillors?